About Us

EIA is a Texas nonprofit corporation qualified as a 501 (c)(3) public charity by the Internal Revenue Service. EIA delivers high-impact, pro bono consulting to other charitable organizations.

Executives in Action (EIA) builds community by strengthening nonprofits and supporting executives in transition.

EIA provides “service grants” to improve the productivity, efficiency, and impact of charitable organizations. These service grants are fulfilled by senior executive consultants who bring years of management experience to targeted projects in our partner nonprofits.

The EIA model delivers a two-fold impact for our community:

  • Strengthening nonprofit organizations and
  • Transforming the lives of highly skilled executives

EIA’s board has committed to covering 100% of the organization’s operating expenses, administration and overhead – so each donation dollar received, will go directly to provide “service grants” to our nonprofit partners.

We endorse and adopt the “Donor’s Bill of Rights” developed by the American Association of Fund Raising Counsel, the Association for Healthcare Philanthropy, the Association of Fundraising Professionals and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education. This document has also been endorsed by other organizations including the Independent Sector, the National Catholic Development Conference, the National Committee on Planned Giving, the National Council for Resource Development and the United Way of America , among others. EIA Donor’s Bill of Rights



Executives in Action builds community by strengthening other nonprofit organizations. To accomplish its mission, EIA engages experienced executive leaders from the business sector as probono consultants to charitable agencies that could not otherwise access such talent.


Typical projects may last from 30 to 90 days. For their service, executives may receive an honorarium for their efforts. The program is offered at no cost to our partner nonprofits. EIA currently partners with 210 nonprofit organizations.


Olivia, Nonprofit

“Roman was exactly what we needed to give our recruitment efforts a boost. He has been amazing!”

EIA Executive

“EIA represents an amazing journey and personal gift of encouragement and purpose to me. EIA’s powerful concept is to match caring, experienced executives that are in transition with deserving non-profits and take those organizations to the next level…quickly. I believe the biggest benefit is mainly for the executive. It really is better to give than to receive.”

Sarah, Nonprofit

“I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Executive who is working on our Financial project. He is amazing and is getting us in such great shape! Very grateful for your organization.”

EIA Executive

“Thank you for allowing me to be a part of this sort of thing. It brings tears to my eyes to be able to help people in need and know that I can make a big difference. EIA is truly a gift – both to the local community and to those executives who take its mission seriously. I’m proud to be associated with you.”

Christina, Nonprofit

“I’m pleased to share with you the good work two of your executives have done for us. One executive create our new Strategic Plan for 2012-2016 and it has been approved by our board of directors. This is exciting for us as this plan includes our new vision and mission statement, as well as core values. You can only imagine the work we are now able to embark upon because of this one project. And then, the other executive is currently working on our Human Resources project – he is a work horse and I am so pleased with his work.”

Olivia, Nonprofit

“We adore him! We’re already saddened at the thought of ever losing him. He is exactly the right person for the right project at the right time. You have done us a GREAT favor by sending Roman our way, and we will be forever grateful. His attention to this project is incredible. He has tackled it as if it were his full time job.  The seriousness with which he is addressing all the facets of our operation is something to behold. I can’t begin to thank you for the opportunity of having him address our specific needs at this point in time.”

EIA Executive 

“Thank you so much for allowing me to be a part of this wonderful organization. It has been a true privilege, and I hope to be able to work with you in some capacity in the future.”

Gae, Nonprofit

“Just wanted to drop a quick note to say – Wendy is wonderful to work with!!  She and I are making great progress on the project and it’s like she can read my mind! (smile)  I anticipate that we will hit all project goals and deadlines, and I couldn’t have done it without Wendy. Again, it is wonderful to work with your clients, as they bring a level of professionalism and competency to these projects that is greatly and sincerely appreciated. I will, of course, send a formal written review after the project ends, but I just had to let you know today.”

 Jan, Nonprofit

“ROB is our HERO!  This  NEVER would have all happened without him.    Anyway WE are so grateful for our partnership.”

EIA Board Members

EIA maintains a board that guide its work, provide oversight of its activities, and ensure its effective use of the community’s funds.


Ashlee Kleinert

Chris Kleinert


Advisory Board

Debra Bradley

Rob Bertino

Jay McAuley

Dale Petroskey

Chuck Thoele

Tim Weil, Treasurer


Seeing opportunity where others saw only crisis, Ashlee and Chris Kleinert collaborated with the Entrepreneurs for North Texas (EFNT) and the Center for Nonprofit Management (CNM)in late 2008.  After blending ideas and professional contacts, they launched EIA in January 2009 as a partnership between EFNT and CNM.  Already having connections with many talented senior executives, EIA sent a single e-mail to 400 nonprofits.  Over 100 organizations applied for projects within a 48-hour period, confirming the remarkable demand in the marketplace for such a program.

Executives in Action (HD)


Organization builds community by strengthening nonprofits [HD] from DFW Reporting on Vimeo.